## Colleagues:

Here is an update on the work of the Management Structure Workgroup (MSW) since my last communication on January 19, 2008.

We have completed our visits with different departments and other campus groups. The list of departments visited is at <u>http://www.lanecc.edu/oiss/MSW/meetingschedule.html</u>.

At these visits, there were several requests to extend the timeline for the work to be completed. In response to these requests, Mary Spilde has agreed to extend the timeline to February 28<sup>th</sup>. Mary will be presenting her final recommendation for the administrative/management structure to the Board of Education in March. This extension will give us an opportunity to post our recommendations, for comments from the campus, prior to submitting it to Mary. I will email you as soon as the MSW proposal, with recommendations, is posted on the project website, so that you will have an opportunity to provide feedback to the MSW.

We have received several proposals for management structures from different campus work groups. If you were not able to complete your proposal by the January 28<sup>th</sup> deadline, please submit it to us before February 7<sup>th</sup>, Thursday, by emailing an individual member at their Lane email address or the entire group at <u>Management Structure</u> <u>Workgroup@lanecc.edu</u>.

At this time, we have started developing alternative options for organization structures, and are engaged in the process of evaluating the pros and cons of each option. I must say that the discussions have been lively, and the different perspectives that members bring have been immensely helpful. Based on our progress so far, I am confident that, our work (our proposal to Mary Spilde) will be a quality product, despite the short timeline, thanks to the extensive meeting times we have scheduled and the aggressive homework assignments that the members have taken on.

For your easy reference, the members of the workgroup are: Alen Bahret (LCCEF), Bob Baldwin (LCCEF) Kate Barry (ET) Dennis Carr (ET) Dawn DeWolf (MSC) Mark Harris (Diversity) Jim Salt (LCCEA) Doug Smyth (LCCEA) Jennifer Steele (MSC) Sonya Christian, Chair Craig Taylor, Director of Institutional Research, Assessment and Planning

Looking forward to your ideas and suggestions.

Sonya Chair, Management Structure Workgroup